Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sun-Related Skin Consultation Treatments + Services Near Laguna Beach, CA

Your skin deserves the best, which is why you should feel confident about who you choose to take care of it. At ZO Skin Centre® in Laguna Beach and Newport Beach, we not only offer advanced technology and exclusive treatments, but also exceptional service and care for our clients. We are proud to share the experiences and results of our patients through their online reviews to help you feel more comfortable about trusting your care to ZO Skin Centre®. We hope these reviews, collected from across the web can help you while you are researching to find the best skin care specialists for your needs.

Filter48 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 12, 2021

May & every staff I had the pleasure to talk to are awesome. I’ve been seeing May for my skin damage and she put me on at home - program, explained every little step, what to expect and she was telling the truth - my skin transformed to a smooth spotless wrinkle free healthy baby skin. May really cares about her clients and whenever I have a question, I text her and she responds right away. You see all these before and after pictures but their regimen really works and you will not regret spending your $$ and time. Having a great result with an amazing mentor and staff - what do you want more? So happy and grateful. Thank you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 20, 2021

I’m so glad that I met Serene, she did the best peel and laser treatment on me. My skin really improved and looks amazing. People always ask me what I use for my skin and it’s not only the ZO products, but the procedures that Serene does has really made a huge difference. She really takes the time to explain the process and what to expect during the healing process. She also kept in contact with me afterwards which was personable and appreciated. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 31, 2020

Love my facials with Josie. She is a beautiful soul and has the best energy. Plus, she does an awesome job. She makes great product recommendations and does not upsell. My skin is the best it’s been in years because of her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 26, 2020

I have struggled with acne, dark spots, large pores, oily skin, black heads you name it! I’m a  39 year old woman of color.  That was Until I met May Ali! She put me on a system with ZO products, and within 6 weeks I have seen amazing, life Changing results. Ms. May have been there every step of the way threw this process. She’s warm and inviting she also care about her patients!  She’s the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 26, 2017

I could not be happier with my injectable treatment that I received from Dr. Bashey.  He is kind, knowledgeable, and highly skilled. I will continue to see him for treatments.  I highly recommend Dr. Bashey for ANY treatment or skin consultation. Did not even feel a needle poke! He is excellent! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 17, 2017

I am so over the moon with my dermaplane treatment experience from Melissa at ZO Skin Centre Laguna Beach. Not only was she fast, but also careful and meticulous.  The very best I have ever had!  Thanks so much Melissa! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 14, 2017

Love facials with Dani. I've gotten alot of great facials in my life and these are the best. My skin looks amazing since going and I've noticed a big change. Also love their products. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 17, 2017

The best skin care in Newport Beach. Super competitive prices. Excellent facialists. Great for men skin needs More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2017

I believe this man is the best. He approaches skin differently than anyone I know that's out there. I usually try all sorts of products but once I saw how brilliant he was, I switched to using all of his products. He knows skin & yours, after looking at you for 3 seconds. No joke. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 12, 2017

I posted my review of the Beverly Hills location separately. I have family in the OC, so when I am local I follow-up with Dr. Bashey. Like I mentioned in my other review, the doctor is kind, compassionate, and very understanding. He is articulate and professional and I find myself not only being super happy with the care he gives me- each time I see him I come out a more educated patient. I am a doctor myself and I am highly critical of doctors but he is exceptional. This office is so beautiful and the staff very very helpful and friendly. I sometimes come in and get facials here too which I find really convenient. I would like to thank Dr. Bashey, Nancy, Jen Ryan, and Melissa for their taking such great care of my skin. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2017

Best skin and spa specialists I've ever been to!!! They are the only ones I trust for facials, my skin has improved massively since I started using all the Obagi products and getting monthly facials from them. The Dermaplane facial is my favorite, my skin feels baby soft afterwards! Abbey, Ana, and Mellissa are sooooo amazing at what they do. I've recommended all my friends to visit the Laguna Beach ZO clinic and now they are hooked too! 100% recommended!!! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 30, 2017

Today I started my journey with Dr. Obagi's products. As I suffer from acne till this day, I am hesitant to see results and my money's worth for what I paid. I did feel a bit on edge today because I felt like I did not receive enough attention during my consultation. It felt rushed and I felt put aside and I am not too happy about that. I would not recommend anyone to seek this facility for help regarding acne. I started off with moderate almost nothing on my face (just pigmentation and scars) after using the products (long list of them almost about 10 products) my face began to break out and turn red almost purple. They follow the philosophy of worse before better; which does not coincide with my way of thinking. I stopped using the products after two months and now my face is full of scars and the redness remains.I would not recommend this place at all. Save your money, your time and your skin. Reply to Obagi:Thanks !!! Now I have severely damaged skin and it will never look the same thanks to your products. They all damaged and burned  my skin. Save your money !!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 24, 2017

Using Melamix and Vitamin A including the whole regimen cleared my skin and made it flawless. Never had better skin in my life while under the regimen! Obagi is the best! Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 19, 2017

Dr Obagi and staffI have been a loyal customer for many years because Dr Obagi is the best! He has a progressive scientific approach to skin care that yields effective results! Obagi and his awesome professional staff educates and demonstrates they are more than just a BRAND. Thank you my health and life has improved because of your genius!Javan More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2017

Life changing facial with Danielle. My first time here today and as soon as my first facial was over, I immediately noticed a difference in my skin. What I love was she was never pushy about their products. She recommended that I ease into their products and slowly start incorporating other items after a few months. Love that. I ended buying the 4 essential items I needed and it was reasonably priced. Before I left I already booked my next appointment with Danielle! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 16, 2017

I've been a patient at ZO Skin Center for over a year. Kristy and her team have been amazing!! They are like a family, and always make me feel so welcome and well taken care of. I love what the products have done for my skin! I will always come here. I highly recommend ZO! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 29, 2016

I went to see Dr. Obagi earlier this year to get 2nd opinion on a bump on my face that I thought was cancer.   My original dermatologist wanted to remove it which would have left a scar.  The moment Dr. Obagi walked into the room he easily diagnosed that it was nothing but a wart (embarrassing).  If I would have went with the advice of my original dermatologist, I would have had an unnecessary scar on face!  To my surprised he diagnosed I had Rosacea and recommended an aggressive treatment that I have just started.  I found the staff incredibly knowledgable about the ZO skin line, professional, and caring.  Also, they were very helpful in walking me through how to use the products (several times).  I've already recommended Dr. Obagi to several friends and will continue to do so. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2016

Dr. Obagi is the only dermatologist that was able to help me with my acne! He is the best hands down! Also Renee is the sweetest medical assistant ever! Staff is very nice! The products really work they're transforming my skin! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from V.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 16, 2016

Dr. Obagi teaches you how to approach your skin in a scientific manner. I've always read about new products and stocked up my cabinets with some of the most expensive skin care lines out there, but now I see that I was just being brainwashed by magazines. I have seen the most improvement when using his products. You can meet with him so that he can assess your skin and tell you exactly which of his products to purchase and how to use them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 11, 2016

I love their line of skin care products. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Kristy, was exceptionally informative on all of the cosmetic services offered at this location. Great customer service! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 01, 2016

I highly recommend going here for all of your skin care needs. Carolyn is so sweet, very professional and knowledgable. I had really bad acne in the past, but after going to Carlyn, my skin feels so smooth and hydrated. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 22, 2016

I don't often give five star reviews but I feel as a regular and longtime satisfied customer I had to. The ZO Skin Centre has saved my skin ever since my days of acne and rosacea till many of my skin emergencies today. I have never been anything but satisfied by the care, products, and results. Their skin products are high quality and effective and I recommend them to everyone.I even purchase their ZO Skin products as gifts for my family members. I highly recommend coming here and Dr. Obagi More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 22, 2016

Let's just say the prices are comparable to high quality skin care products and services. But well with the investment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 12, 2016

I had a wonderful experience with Obagi today! As soon as I walked in, the atmosphere was very peaceful and zen. Abby gave me an express facial and it was just what I needed! Her calming energy helped me relax and she really made my skin glow. Thank you Obagi and Abby for making me feel beautiful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 27, 2016

I gotta say, I was a little worried to come in after seeing a handful of negative reviews. But now, it's safe to say that unfavorable feedbacks should in no way stop anyone from visiting this clinic, because these guys know how to brings results.They've come up with a standard, yet very elaborate approach on how to treat problematic skin/adult acne. And it works! It not only fixes the main condition, but improves the quality of skin as well. Unlike many respected derm docs that give out prescriptions that target the acne problem solely, at Obagi there is an entire program designed to fix all possible skin complications. I can't stress enough how important this is, especially if you have sensitive skin that reacts to every slight impact on it. Also unlike many beauty spots, they didn't pretend facials would make a noticeable change and insisted on me taking more significant steps to handle the matter.Yes, the prices are high and maybe someone in the past had possible unpleasant interactions with the staff. But I honestly can say that when you've been struggling with adult acne for a long time, the results overweight everything else.  I wanna recommend this clinic to everyone with skin concerns. I've gone through my treatment without taking any medications internally and it was the most, I wanna repeat, the most effective one I've tried ... I hope they'll think about expanding to other countries, because their products are as efficient  as one can hope for. This is my first and probably last review on yelp. I just felt like someone has to do justice to this place and explain why the readers should try to oversee the negative reviews in favor of permanent results. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from R.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 23, 2016

I originally was referred to this location years ago.  I was a bit nervous with the expense and procedures.  The staff was able to accommodate very quickly facials and peels for my freckles.  I purchased the entire line for treatment.  The only disappointment is the change in the product.  I enjoyed and saw the results a lot faster in the original U.S. And euro Nuderm line.  The new line is the Zo line which in my opinion not as effective, still a great product just not as quickly effective as the Original Nuderm line. The location is very clean and organized and the staff is very informative on what's best for your skin and what's not, the staff doesn't up sell which I like .  The eye cream and vitamin C are a must for me :) and well worth the price. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 24, 2016

I can't say enough good things about this facility, staff and products! I've been battling acne for 20 years and have seen countless estheticians and dermatologists. My skin is finally seeing results and I can go out without makeup on without being embarrassed about my acne or scars. I recently had a waxing incident and thought I was going to have a meltdown when I saw what my face looked like. I went in to ZO and they instantly got me the product I needed to  not scar and when I went in the following day the dr happened to be there and he saw me and told me exactly what to do, all of this without charge, just being caring about a client and wanting to help. They go above and beyond and you can tell they truly care and want the best for you! Highly recommend anyone, skin problems or just maintenance to check them out, you won't be disappointed. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2016

My mom found Dr. Obagi in a magazine 20+ years ago and not only has he helped her immensely, he has helped me as well! I started going to Obagi for my acne when I was a young teenager after Kaiser dermatologists were no help. I got on his regimen and it helped me, but as I continued going through puberty and my acne was getting worse, I needed something more as nothing else was working. He recommended accutane for me (twice! the first time I didn't listen!) and I'm so glad he did. It was the only thing that worked and now 2 years after he prescribed it/insisted I get on it and even suggesting I go through Kaiser as it'd be cheaper there and about 6 months after finishing my course on accutane, I am acne free. He knows what he's doing and his products work. If you listen to him and do what he suggests, you'll be happy with your skin. I've also gone there for facials with Liz and she is the best! Suzy is also always friendly and welcoming. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2016

I went in for a hydrofacial and I won't go anywhere else. This place is spotless and beautiful. You feel like you are in a five star spa and they treat you like a queen! I got so much information on my skin type and they helped me figure out a new skincare regime that has made a world of difference. Can't wait for my next appt! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2016

I just had my first experience at Obagi with Ana Schissler. I am very particular on who touches my skin and what offices I choose to go to and I have to say that this experience blew me away! If I could give 6 stars I would have! Not only was the office gorgeous (right on the beach in Laguna!) but my first hydrofacial experience has changed me forever. I walked out of there with the most glowing and softest skin! Ana was so calming and so informative on my skin type. I had been using the same products for the last 5 years and switched over to Obagi after my experience.I will not go anywhere else! Thank you Ana!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 26, 2016

Obagi is one of the best spa's I have ever been to hand down! Not only is the place absolutely beautiful but they keep their offices spotless! The entire staff knows you by name and makes sure that you feel welcomed when you arrive.  I do have to say that Ana Schissler at Obagi is the best facialist I have ever been to. If you want to try anything new or need a Hyrdofacial, she is definitely the one for you (she also gives the best neck massages)! She has been doing my facials for over a year and she has completely transformed by skin. Not only is she a great facialist but she also is very educated. I am in my second trimester and Ana was so informative on what products I should change over to and what can and can't be done during my pregnancy. If you want a beautiful place to relax and experienced facialists with product knowledge this place is definitely for you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 20, 2015

I had my very first Hydra Facial with esthetician Carlyn and I am hooked! She customized each step to meet my skin care needs, it felt good, and my skin looked great afterwards. I love the cleanliness and professionalism of the practice and staff. I highly recommend this medical spa! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 07, 2015

I recently had a skin brightening facial with a Dermaplane add on with Dani. Omg this was seriously the best facial I've ever had hands down. She was so thorough and has amazing technique. I'll be back soon! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 15, 2015

I finally got a chance to check out the newest medspa at Fashion Island. As a newlywed, I've been finally coming down off of the stress of wedding planning and thought I'd treat myself. So I finally had some free time to call for an appointment.  They were able to fit me in the same day with Carlyn.  I have used Obagi products for a while now. But I guess they've got a new line out that they're pushing at this medspa. And to have an entire facial with them felt great. Carlyn was very sweet and very gentle with her facial. She did a microdermabrasian and oxygen on my skin in addition to the typical mask, cleanser and extraction.  Honestly, it might've been the most unique facial I've ever had. And it was great.  It's definitely pricy at about $200 plus tip.  However, I feel like it was well worth it. I'm absolutely glowing right now! I did purchase some of the new Obagi products to see if there's much of a difference between those and the old Obagi line.  They did come with a free gift, which is surprise, more products. All in all, a great experience. I'll put it on my rotation for pampering. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 27, 2015

Dr. Obagi's products literally changed my life! I've suffered from adult acne since my early 20's and its taken a toll on my psychological state of mind; not feeling good about myself had a negative trickle down effect when it came to all areas of my life and I lacked confidence. I can say that I've tried every acne product on the market. I've been prescribed topical acne medications, organic face washes, and other expensive skin care brands and nothing has worked the way Obagi's products have. I've seen consistent progress and am beyond thrilled with the results. I feel like I can do anything now and have definitely found a new sense of confidence. I saw Nurse practitioner Anita and she was amazing. Everyone there is so warm, friendly, and accommodating. I just wish I would have found Dr. Obagi sooner. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 01, 2015

Wonderful staff great service my skin has improved tremendously since I have been going there. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 17, 2014

Commit to Obagi's aggressive regime and your skin will be transformed. What's a better investment than always putting your best face forward? More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 05, 2014

After seeing all the positive reviews on the Obagi products I decided to make an appointment at the actual clinic.  The office is located in the heart of Beverly Hills and is clean and modern. I did not have to wait long to get into my appointment.  The front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. They started out by taking photos of my skin with no makeup prior to me going into the treatment room. This is so they can track my progress when I would come in for a follow-up visit.My concern was that I recently had been suffering from some breakouts that I wanted to get undercontrol. I wanted to have my skin reevaluated and analyzed so that I could have a new skincare regime. I paid the hefty fee of $400 to meet with a Obagi himself. It was informative and he recommended a new skincare routine for me. He did try to sell me on some fillers additionally but I passed on those because I have a cosmetic surgeon  whom I  already go to for that. I ended up investing around $550 for the new products. When I first started using them my skin reacted to them. But once my skin got used to it all the results have been amazing.  I get many compliments from people asking what I use for my skin because it looks so good. All breakouts are undercontrol and if I do happen to get a blemish here and there the product's that I have knock it out in less than a few days. I've tried many skincare lines and not had as good as results as I do with Obagi. For my follow-up visit I decided just to see the physicians assistant because I felt that paying $250 just for a follow-up with Obagi himself was a bit steep especially since my skin has improved and was looking great . His PA charges a lower fee that is more reasonable. That is my only reasoning for the four stars because I think his pricing is a bit high for a 20 minute visit. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Q.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 15, 2013

Dr. Obagi is an absolute genius. My skin is finally on the right track to where I want it to be after constant picking and deep scars. During my consultation, he had a sense of humor and was straight to the point with my skin's problems. The institute and its staff are lovely and very high-end. I came in to buy more products again and am so excited to keep seeing results. The products are worth the price, they actually WORK. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 08, 2013

I have been suffering from acne since high school. Before visiting the Obagi Skin Health Institute, I have tried a lot of the over-the-counter treatments, like the Proactive, Clinique, Neutrogena, etc. All of these had worked for a while, and then stopped working. And none of them can actually reduce/control my breakouts and my acne scars that left behind.I finally decided to visit the dermatologist last year after being depressed with the OTC treatments. And I am so happy that I made the decision. To be honestly, I didn't do a lot of research on which dermatologist that I'm gonna visit. I just googled it, and Obagi popped up! I called for an appointment and the miracle has begun!My first consultation was with the well-famed Dr. Obagi. As all the negative reviews said, it was right that he didn't spend a lot of time with me, totally about 20 minutes. By then I was using all OTC products. But I convinced myself to switch to the all Obagi products after seeing how great skin Dr. Obagi himself has. I'm not gonna lie that everything was sooooooooo expensive. But the result makes me believe that you get what you pay for.Before I made my decision on whether I'm gonna start the program, Dr. Obagi warned me about the possible side effects in the first month, including severe peeling and redness. I was scared. But my skin was pretty bad at that time. So I thought I had nothing more to lose. I started the Obagi program in Feb. last year, and went out of it in Sept. I think.It was a very harsh program. My skin was peeking and extremely red with pain in the first month. Nothing actually helped with the side effects. I was a little bit afraid. But all the reviews online were saying that these were normal. And I remembered that Dr. Obagi also warned me about these. So I insisted in the program. In the meantime, my acne was already under control. I got very few breakouts. And none of them were as big as they were before. I was in the program for about 6-7 months. I walked out with natural glowing skin. Most of my acne scars were cleared out. And my breakouts were under control. During the program, I forced myself to stick with the products that Dr. Obagi prescribed except for some extremely gentle hydrating products. I also got regular facial to get off the dead skin. I was also put into the accutane program for 5 months. My insurance didn't cover it. So it was expensive. But I was very lucky that I didn't have any side effects. I don't know how well accutane worked because I was using the Obagi products in conjunction with it. But the whole program cleared me out.Starting from this year, I thought I would try out some other medical brands and stopped using all Obagi products for couple of months. And this is true. My acne went worse. It was not as bad as it was before the treatment. But it definitely went worse comparing last year. So I went back to use the complex A cream, the blender cream and the Te-pads in conjunction with other non-Obagi products. After a month of doing so, my skin was back to normal again. Even during my cycle period, I didn't get a single big breakout.Obagi program is definitely nose-bleeding expensive. And it is also a very harsh program. I don't think everybody can tolerate it. So do the research before going there. If you can't get over with the peeling and redness, then it probably is not for you. Since I started the program, I am getting so many compliments on my skin. And I even referred a friend there. And she was also getting very satisfactory results. All I want to say is that if you decide to go there, then just fully trust the doctors there; follow strictly with the program; be patient and be consistent. You will see results. And you will get what you pay for. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2012

Dr Obaji changed my life.I was in my 30's and still dealing with pimples...After Dr Obaji treatment I had baby skin. It was 20 years ago and now my daughter , who tried so many different treatments, loves Nu Derm and some other products from Obaji.  I usually don't write reviews but I'm so thankful to Dr for changing my skin. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 03, 2012

I have suffered with adult acne since I was 45, then menopause, then just constant cystic breakouts. I tried many EXPENSIVE products that were prescription including retin A Micro-gel. Nothing really worked or at least not for long. I kept hearing about Obaji and many estheticians who did not work for his company would say he is the best. Since using Obaji, my skin has drastically changed and improved. I do not like how expensive it is to see him but the products are comparable in price in what I was buying previously. I do believe I have found my home with Obaji when it come sto my facial products. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 30, 2011

I had some Cystic Acne at the age of 40!! I couldn't shave on a daily basis because my skin was very sensitive. After using different products and wasting my money, I went to see Dr. Obagi. The result: very healthy, firm skin. No more cystic acne, and I could shave without any bumps and acne!!!! I highly recommend this institute. I have been dealing with Dr. Obagi, and his registered nurse Diana. Very happy with the office staff and the result is amazing. The only downfall is that the visits are costly and they don't accept insurance, but you could submit the recite to your health insurance and they reimburse you partially. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 10, 2010

the best doctor in the world has created the best products. i have tried every product there is in themarket for my skin . this is the only line of skin productsthat  it does what it spouse to do. do not waste your money, time, most important your face with somethingelse. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 09, 2010

I guess first off I should say that I am one of those people who started getting blemishes (what a soft word) at 12 or 13, and they never went away.  Had them through my teens, 20's, 30's, 40's and 50's (really).  The sites moved around, forehead to all over to chin.  Tried Accutane in my 30's when it first came out (got a "remission" of acne for about 6 years, didn't want to take another round because I was child bearing).  Throughout my life I have battled acne and dealt with the emotional effects.  In addition to Accutane, I've used benzol peroxide, tetracycline, cleocine, retin-A, the pill, Christine Valmay, Dermatalogica, Erno Lazlo, over the counter remedies too numerous to mention or even remember, and even toothpaste and windex (courtesy of My Big Fat Greek Wedding, it worked for Aidan but not for me). OK, there are my credentials.Obagi......OMG.  The counsultation is $200, and Dr. Obagi doesn't say much (I think he says the same thing to everyone) so you could actually skip that if you want to purchase his products online instead of in his office, it is the same stuff.The products work.  That is all I can say.  I am 59 and my skin is smooth, the age spots are GONE, no blemishes (whoever tells you that acne ends after menopause is wrong),  no peeling from using the wrong stuff (you can always use less if you peel from his products, and some peeling is good), I guess the best thing I can say is that I don't spend any time worrying about my skin, and I feel great about how my skin looks. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from J.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 12, 2008

I've been using Obagi for about 3 years now. It's one of the best things I could've ever done for myself - but having blemish free skin is not cheap. First off, the consultation to see Dr. Obagi is $200 alone. He stays with you about 10 minutes, touches your face a couple of times and then you're done. I think he said no more than 20 words to me, and included in that was - you use too much moisturizer. So, he recommended to me that I use the Obagi CR-X system. For all the pieces in the set - it's about $500 and if used properly you are going to need a refill on your products every 1.5 month. The great thing is that often times, the sunblock and face wash will last longer than the others so you only need to buy that stuff every other refill period. Mind you those are the cheapest things within the set - so you still need to shell out major bucks. Thank god they allow you to buy things separately so you don't have to shell out the $500 each time, but expect to spend at least $300 every now and then.If you have bad skin going into it, I suggest you use the Obagi Nu Derm system - you'll peel but it does wonders. A good friend of mine uses it and she has amazing skin now! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 20, 2008

this is by far the best skin treatment clinic & doctor.  Although I spend about $2000/year for products and treatments, I think this is by far much less expensive than some of the "spa facials" and expensive cosmetics you buy from dept stores.  I've been a patient of Dr Obagi for over 10 years and have referred everyone I know who is interested in skin care (some of my friends have had serious problems with pigmentation spots from sun exposure).  My skin is i the best conditio since my 30's (and I'm almost 60).  Most people think I'm in my 40's.  I cannot more highly recommend a skin treatment.  Although you may have to wait to see Dr Obagi, it is worth the wait.  He is very no nonsense and direct in his diagnosis.  His daughter, Sandra, manages the San Gabriel clinic and does the facials (therapeutic, not be confused with spa facials).  She is really good and takes time to answer questions and make recommendations). More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 21, 2006

Dr. Obagi is a well-known skin-care specialist...he even has his own clinically proven Obagi system to treat hyperpigmentation, pot-marks, etc.  Seriously...it's a MIRACLE system.During his consultation (which runs $200-350 depending on how many issues he's talking to you about...me, it was just pigmentation) he'll look you over with a fine-tooth comb (literally, checks your face and hair-line and so on) and then he'll A) diagnose B) diagram what's going on with your skin and WHY C) talk about what you've done in the past to correct it D) illustrate with pen and paper how he's going to fix it E) goes over which products will work for you and how to use them.  He's very approachable, likeable, knowledgeable...he'll answer any and all questions.  Basically he told me that I should just go hom and give all of my skin-care products to someone I don't like...cuz none of them work! lolIf you want to TRANSFORM your skin and not just MASK it...go to Dr. Obagi. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models. All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.